Zac Clark, Rocker Tycoon

The Rogue Rock Writer, Half in the Bag, Submersed in the Scene

Shampoo JC Opens for Business

with 4 comments

Monday morning I woke up feeling a little bit like a second rate Scooby Do character. That is to say I was feeling Shaggy, although now that I think about it I guess I was feeling sort of Scrappy too! So I called up my friend Christina (Xtina) Cruz. I had recently decided to entrust all of my scalp-related styling needs to her able hands. She told me that if I waited until Tuesday I could be her first customer at the new salon. I’m always game to try something new.

So with much anticipation and a full head of overgrown hair I waited out the rest of Monday. It wasn’t just that I needed a haircut. I needed a great haircut. Thanksgiving week is a busy time. You have to go see your family, and that normally means seeing old friends and that will eventually boil right down to seeing old girlfriends. I also have a high school reunion on Friday. I need to be looking beyond rad. Let’s face it folks, maybe you tell everyone you don’t really care about what people think, but at the end of the day you want to leave that reunion with all the girls that wouldn’t give you the time of day in high school thinking, “What a total hunk that dude is now!” Not me of course I’m above all that nonsense. I was a total stud in high school anyhow (yea, I’m a fiction writer now). Anyhow, I say all that to say this: You’re going to feel like a rock star if you look like a rock star, and nothing makes you feel more awesome, short of brand new socks, than a new haircut.

Tuesday at 1pm I trotted over to Shampoo JC’s new spot on Columbus and Grove right next to the Hard Grove. First Impression: the place is set up with a designer’s touch. Function and minimalism come together for a very relaxed looking area. I’m greeted by Xtina and Harley Dinardo (Owner and Stylist) and they informed me that I’m not only Xtina’s first customer, but I’m the very first customer for the new shop! We joke about writing “Good Luck” on the first bills the salon is going to receive and she takes my jacket and walks me over to the shampoo area. “Try that new British shampoo.” Harley tells her. I have to say that stuff smelled amazing. So, after my hair was clean, I buckled in for a go with the clippers.

Now half the reason I chose Ms. Cruz as my hair care consultant was certainly because of her prowess with a pair of scissors and instinct when it comes to using them on me. The other reason is for the conversation.  As a bartender I’m used to hearing about people’s lives and what kind of trouble they’re getting into. But where does a drink slinger go when he wants to get some stuff off his chest? Well, I go to get my haircut. Xtina has known me for a little over 2 years now, so we talk about jobs and relationships and just general things.  Half the reason I don’t just Bic my head every few days is for some good old fashion conversation with a confidant, the other half is because my ears look even larger without some hair to hold them back (frankly, If I have to hear another person say I look like Moby with my head shaved I might scream).

Xtina finished up my hair and we took a few publicity shots for our respective facebook pages and websites. What a total treat. If you need your ears lowered and are up for some great conversation I highly suggest Shampoo JC!

Written by rockertycoon

November 25, 2009 at 12:22 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What’s just a men’s cut gonna run me? Can I get a hot towel razor shave? Is this a “fresh from the barbershop” or “fly from the beauty salon kinda place”?

    dan

    November 25, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    • mens cut: $39 I didn’t need a shave so i really don’t know, think of it as a very chic barbershop. If you go lemme know about the shave if they do that.

      rockertycoon

      November 25, 2009 at 12:45 pm

  2. I think I might have been client #2 (#9 would have been so much cooler) and I’m glad I stopped in. Harley did a really nice job with the place and I’m very happy with the hair cut I got from Xtina. She definitely had her work cut out for her since I hadn’t gotten a cut in months. Bonus points for the shampoo they used too, the smell was so damn relaxing, I’ll be back!

    seamus

    November 25, 2009 at 1:03 pm

  3. Xtina (my little sister) has been cutting my hair for a couple years…i totally love the new place! i was customer number….well i dont know but i went in a couple weeks ago and love the place!!! will be back soon!!!

    may

    December 22, 2009 at 1:00 pm


Leave a Reply

