Zac Clark, Rocker Tycoon

The Rogue Rock Writer, Half in the Bag, Submersed in the Scene

Disc Deconstruction: “Japanese Gypsy Rock” by Kagero

with one comment

I woke up wrenching myself from the siren’s call to sleep that was saturday morning’s rain.  Pulled myself together and stepped out the door to work.  More than clouds hung over my mind.  I’m not the same person I am during the spring and summer.  The manic Dr. Jekyll gives way to the depressive Mr. Hyde once the sun begins to take it’s leave earlier.  Seasonal affective disorder is a pain, I suppose.  Imagine my 180 when I got to work and realized that Kagero’s new album was waiting for me.  I’ve been waiting for this to materialize since first hearing them at Lucky 7 Tavern back in November 08.  Most of the music I purchase these days in in the form of mp3’s, so I rarely get a hard copy of an L.P.  Appreciating a bit of craftsmanship and the beautiful art adorning the front cover I made it a point to scour the case from front to back.  Upon doing so I came across the list of thank you’s and shout out’s to people who have helped out the band.  Again, I was overjoyed to see that my name was right there in black and white!  It’s great to know that a band I truly believe in is making gains on their musical career, and I can’t say it’s anything less than flattering that they wanted to share a part of that success with me!  Of course, I immediately ripped the L.P. into my computer and began to listen to Kaz Fujimoto (Guitar, Vocals) Rob Simpson (Bass) and J.W. (Violin).  Instantly, I was having a great day.

Track 1, My Little Bonita starts off about waking up on a rainy day.  It couldn’t have started out more appropriate.  Kagero’s themes center around the trials and tribulations of dealing with the fairer sex, drinking with your friends, and even some more fictional and less autobiographical songs like Track 3, My Daddy is a Thief. It’s the story of a little girl whose father tries to lull her to sleep.  I really can’t begin to do these songs justice by explaining them, though.  Kaz is an amazing storyteller with J.W. and Rob lending support they really bring a sound thats both unique and contagious.  Each track is not just part of a larger whole but also strong enough to stand on it’s own.  My Personal Favorites?

Track 4 Red and Black: A story about the narrator’s slightly morose fashion tastes after falling out with a lover.

Track 7 Grappa: A great song about a close personal friend …..wine, with a beautiful interlude on the violin.

Kagero is playing Lucky 7 Tavern coming up soon with a CD release party.  12/15 is the date.  I highly suggest you mark your calendar, and bring your dancing shoes.  It’s sure to be a night of singing and carrying on as the McMickle Bros. are also booked for that night.  I’m sure I’ll see you there.

Written by rockertycoon

December 7, 2009 at 3:20 am

Posted in Kagero, Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. For those of you reading this who have not seen Kagero perform – any praise, however high, will be limited to an understatement. their shows are always a phenomenal foot-stomping PARTY! They are a highly recommended blast!

    Deivito

    December 7, 2009 at 3:04 pm


Leave a Reply

